Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

1 April 2012
Barry Cup - Semi Final
Clodiagh Rangers
Joe Cullagh
1-1(5-4 pens)
Mike Haverty
Clodiagh advanced to the final of the Barry Cup in nail-biting drama in Drombane on Sunday morning.
Ballymackey were the opposition, and though Clodiagh had comfortably dealt with the threat from the Ballinrea men in the league encounter the previous Sunday, this contest proved to be a far tighter affair.
Clodiagh accelerated into an early lead when, in-form striker, Joe Cullagh latched onto a long ball by Matt McCullagh to round the keeper and score.
The home team were in charge for much of the opening half hour and had numerous chances to double their advantage, with Colm Stapleton and Michael Browne shaving either upright after being set-up by Shane O'Dwyer and Denis McCullagh respectively from the wide positions.
Ballymackey grabbed themselves a lifeline minutes from the halftime interval when a rightwing cross found the head of a Ballymackey midfielder and Adrian Cooke in the Clodiagh rangers goal was left with little chance from close range.
The second half was a very cagy affair with neither team willing to over-commit numbers in attack but yet, Clodiagh had further chances to increase their goal tally, not least with Denis McCullagh going agonizingly close with a diving header from a Joe Cullagh knock-down.
It was more of the same from Clodiagh Rangers in extra time, striking the woodwork on three occasions, with Joe Cullagh heading against the post, John O'Dwyer volley off the crossbar and a Gareth Foxton free kick hitting the post also.
Clodiagh were not to be denied from the ensuing penalty shootout however, and five successful spot kicks from Gareth Foxton, Matt McCullagh, John O'Dwyer, Paul English and Denis McCullagh, coupled with an Adrian Cooke save were enough to secure a place for the Drombane men in the Barry Cup final.
Adrian Cooke; Barry O'Loughlin, Matt McCullagh, Matt Ryan, Paul English; Shane O'Dwyer, Michael Browne, Gareth Foxton, Denis McCullagh; Colm Stapleton, Joseph Cullagh.
John O'Dwyer, James Murray, Liam McCullagh.