Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

09 December 2012
Division 1
Clodiagh Rangers
Matt Ryan
Shane O'Dwyer
Clodiagh entertained Ardcroney on a fine morning in Drombane on Sunday after a weather-enforced lengthy break from league fixtures.

The home side turned in a dominant display and confidently passed the ball about the pitch carving out numerous guilt-edged goal-scoring chances, but a combination of profligacy in front of goal, and an exceptional performance from the visiting custodian left the Drombane side frustrated by the lack of a breakthrough goal.

Tommy Stevens was tearing the visiting defence ragged and chances fell to Matt Ryan, Paul Doyle and Gareth Foxton but still the scoreline remained at nil.

Clodiagh paid a hefty price for their inability to capitalize on their dominance in the closing ten minutes of the opening period when Ardcroney scored twice, capitalizing on some complacent and error-ridden defending, leaving Clodiagh with an uphill struggle in the second half.

The home team continued in the second half in similar fashion to the first, and when their goal finally arrived via the head of Matt Ryan on fifty-five minutes, there was a palpable sigh of relief around the ground.

Re-cycled possession from a corner kick, allowed the irrepressible Tommy Stevens to cross to the far post for Matt Ryan to nod home in emphatic fashion. Shortly after the hour mark, Clodiagh brought on Andrew Quirke and Shane O'Dwyer from the substitutes bench to re-invigorate the attack and it had the desired effect with ten minutes to play when O'Dwyer poached the equaliser, stealing in at the back post to coolly tap home a right-wing cross.

Ardcroney were finally stung into attack in the closing stages and almost cruelly snatched all three points in injury time, but for an exceptional double save from Adrian Cooke in the Clodiagh Rangers goal.
Adrian Cooke; Paul English, Matt McCullagh, Greg Fewer, Barry O'Loughlin; Matt Ryan, James Murray, Denis McCullagh, Gareth Foxton; Paul Doyle, Tommy Stevens.
Andrew Quirke, Shane O'Dwyer, Owen Shortt.