Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

7 August 2011
Division One Shield
Clodiagh Rangers
Clodiagh Rangers started their season with a home fixture in the Divisional Shield in a rain-sodden Drombane on Sunday last against Borrisokane.

Managerial pairing of Eamon Maher and Tom Quinlan handed debuts to a number of last season's successful Youth team and they quickly found their feet with James Murray and Shane Dwyer combining well to create the first chance of the match with the latter firing narrowly over the crossbar.

After absorbing a few early attacks from Borrisokane, the home side took control of the first half and were denied a certain penalty when Denis McCullagh was upended inside the box, only for the referee to award a freekick on the eighteen yard line.

Into the second half and Clodiagh Rangers continued to apply the pressure with Paul Doyle chancing his luck with an effort from long range.

Largely against the run of play Borrisokane took a shock lead when a left wing cross from Dwayne Power found it's way to the David Nevin at the back post who left Adrian Cooke with little chance in the Clodiagh Rangers goal from close range. Clodiagh Rangers almost struck back immediately when McCullagh and Ryan combined to release Paul Doyle on right wing.

Doyle's first time cross was volleyed narrowly over the crossbar by Ailbe O'Donoghue who was looking to carry forward his free-scoring form from last season with the Youth setup. Next to threaten was Joseph Cullagh racing onto a through-ball by Matt Ryan, but the Borrisokane keeper was out smartly to deny the second half substitute.

Shane Dwyer and Barry O'Loughlin exchanged passes on the left, before the latter whipped in a devilish cross to the back post that was headed narrowly wide by Denis McCullagh. Clodiagh Rangers threw everything at Borrisokane in the closing stages and after good approach play Ailbe O'Donoghue, he found Matt McCullagh in space at edge of the area, but the resultant shot was well saved by the keeper.

Despite the best efforts of the home side, Clodiagh Rangers couldn't find the equalizer needed to take the contest to penalties, and ultimately crashed out of the Divisional Shield.
Adrian Cooke; Barry O'Loughlin, Matt McCullagh, Shane O'Dwyer, James Murray; Shane Dwyer, Matt Ryan, Denis McCullagh, Paul Doyle; Paul Ryan, Ailbe O'Donoghue.
Joseph Cullagh, Andrew Fogarty.