Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

20 April 2012
Barry Cup Final
Clodiagh Rangers
Joe Cullagh
Paul Doyle
2-1(after extra time. 1-1 after 90 mins)
Bridge United
Dermot Hogan
U 11s
Denis McCullagh challenges for the ball.

U 11s
Barry O'Loughlin heads clear.

U 11s
John Dwyer heads narrowly wide.

U 11s
Matt McCullagh defends at the far post

U 11s
Shane O'Dwyer crosses.

U 11s
Bridge apply severe pressure from a corner.

U 11s
Gareth Foxton takes the ball on a bit of an outing.

U 11s
Paul Doyle displaying trickery in the corner

U 11s
John Dwyer and Joe Cullagh search for the ball. We think.

Clodiagh Rangers 'A' bridged a twelve-year silverware drought with victory over Bridge United in the final of the Barry Cup in dramatic fashion in Thurles Greyhound Stadium on Friday evening.

The Drombane side exploded out of the traps and almost hit the lead inside the opening five minutes when Paul Doyle latched onto a John O'Dwyer ball and rounded the keeper only to see his attempted finish cleared off the line by the retreating Bridge United defence.

Clodiagh settled into the contest with the opposition conceding a succession of corner kicks and free kicks in the final third of the pitch but were unable to capitalize. As halftime approached though, Bridge United had regained their composure and the game was evenly poised at the break.

Clodiagh started the second half as they started the first and this time capitalized on an early opportunity to take the lead.

Gareth Foxton fed Paul English who clipped a measured pass into the inside right channel for Joe Cullagh to race onto and the in form marksman beat the last defender before unleashing a confident strike into the bottom left hand corner of the net.

Bridge United were stung into action by this setback and began to assert themselves on proceedings, putting the Clodiagh goal under significant pressure and with almost complete territorial advantage for the most of the second half.

After successfully defending a succession of corner kicks and free kicks and the Clodiagh goal generally leading a charmed existence, the Clodiagh defence was finally breached on the hour mark when Dermot Hogan latched onto a cross at the edge of the area to guide a volley home.

After conceding the advantage on the score sheet, Clodiagh grappled back control of the game, adding fresh legs in the midfield with the introduction of Liam McCullagh, and almost snatched a winner within the regulation ninety minutes when John O'Dwyer rose highest at the back post to head a Colm Stapleton corner kick narrowly wide.

The first half of extra time passed by without major incident with both teams reluctant to commit numbers forward in attack, however the second period would prove far more dramatic.

Bridge United were denied a lead goal early in the second period when Adrian Cooke was fully extended to palm a looping header from a right wing cross around the post. Moments later Barry O'Loughlin cleared a deflected shot off the line.

A tiring Clodiagh Rangers team were beginning to creak and matters were exacerbated when they were reduced to ten men with five minutes to play with Matt McCullagh received his marching orders for a cynical last man tackle.

The resulting Bridge United free kick cannoned back off the right hand upright to deny Bridge United what surely would have been a winning goal, but there was still time for another twist.

Second half substitutes, James Murray and Shane O'Dwyer, combined to brilliant effect in the middle of the park, with Murray evading two would be tackles to find O'Dwyer in the centre who split the Bridge United defence with a pass for Paul Doyle to race through and curl the ball low into the bottom right hand corner for his fourteenth goal of the season.

There was little time for a Bridge riposte and with Matt Ryan fittingly making the final clearance of the match, Clodiagh Rangers' captain, Denis McCullagh accepted the Barry Cup amidst jubilant Clodiagh Rangers management and supporters.
Adrian Cooke; Barry O'Loughlin, Matt McCullagh, Matt Ryan, Paul English, John Dwyer, Gareth Foxton, Colm Stapleton, Denis McCullagh, Paul Doyle, Joseph Cullagh.
Liam McCullagh, Shane O'Dwyer, James Murray