Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

10 October 2009
Division 3
Clodiagh Rangers B
Joe Cullagh
Stephen Ryan 3 (1 pen)

Clodiagh Rangers B's recent winless run continued last Sunday when neighbours Holycross came to Drombane and left with all three points following a merited victory.

The home side started sluggishly and were punished early on after some casual defending resulted in a Holycross forward, Stephen Ryan, stealing possession in the danger area and racing into the box before being upended, and giving the referee an easy decision pointing to the spot.
The resultant penalty was tucked away with aplomb.

Clodiagh Rangers gradually began to get a foothold in the match after this early setback, but whilst they had the better of things territorially, they struggled to really test the Holycross keeper's shot stopping abilities.
As the second half developed a hungrier Holycross began to dominate the struggling Clodiagh Rangers midfield and a period of sustained pressure on the home defence resulted in the visitors grabbing their second goal when a dangerous cross from the right flank was headed home from six yards by the inrushing Stephen Ryan.

At this stage, an obviously frustrated Clodiagh boss, PJ Kennedy, decided to ring the changes by throwing on three subs in quick succession in an attempt to turn the tide.

This move gave Clodiagh some much needed impetus and good approach play from Pat Phelan, Jack Ryan and Andy Kinane finally began to worry the Holycross rearguard. Midway through the half Mikey Ryan whipped in a pinpoint cross for Joe Cullagh to latch onto, and the Clodiagh Rangers youngster made no mistake with a clinical low finish for his fourth of the campaign.

The home side continued to press forward in search of an equaliser but Holycross stood firm and responded with numerous counter attacks of their own, which Pat Treacy in the Clodiagh goal did well to thwart on two occasions, before eventually being rounded for the decisive third goal, eight minutes from time, with Stephen Ryan completing his hatrick.
Pat Treacy; Colm Kennedy, Tommy Ryan, John Ryan(Nippy), Joe Bourke; Patrick Purcell, Andy Kinane, Stephen Gleeson, Pat Phelan; Sean Maguire, Joe Cullagh.
Jack Ryan, Mikey Ryan (D), Lenny Purcell