Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

Sunday 11th October 2015
2nd Division
Clodiagh Rangers B
Lough Derg B 3
After drawing blanks in their previous two outings Clodiagh got back to scoring ways on Sunday last.

Despite scoring three the home side had to settle for a share of the spoils.

The game was tight until Dean Carew scored mid way through the half. Clodiagh were defended a succession of corners and throws deep in their own half when they broke up along the left. Carew cut into the box and scored past the Lough Derg keeper.

The visitors were not behind for long though. Mark McInerney picked the ball up just outside the Clodiagh box and his left footed shot found the roof of the net.

Lough Derg almost took the lead before the break when they were awarded and indirect free kick inside the penalty area for a back pass. Luckily for Clodiagh Eric Monaghan's effort came back off the post. The visitors took the lead early in the second half when Monaghan broke the offside trap and slotted past Niall grant to make it 1-2.

Dominik Pastorek then came close to equalising unfortunately though he headed just wide from a corner delivery.

Clodiagh's equaliser came mid way through the half. A short corner taken by Keith Ryan found Ailbe O' Donoghue who's step over allowed the in running Jack Spillane to shoot from the edge of the box. Spillane's shot found the corner of the net to tie the game at 2-2.

A frantic last 10 minutes saw both teams score. Lough Derg countered down Clodiagh's left and their pacy winger Marco Federico cut inside the penalty box and finished calmly to make it 2-3.

Clodiagh's resilience earned them an equaliser late on and that man again Dean Carew added to his goal tally. In fact the home side felt unlucky not to be awarded a penalty in the dying minutes when Keith Ryan was fouled on the end line.
Niall Grant, Viv Downey, Keith Ryan, Dominik Pastorek, Alan Tierney, Vincent Ryan, Ailbe O' Donoghue, Jack Spillane, Dean Carew, Kevin Ryan & Seamus Cullagh.
Conor Ryan, Rory Ryan, David Considine.