Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

18 September 2011
Division Three
Clodiagh Rangers B
Joe Cullagh
Declan Carr
Sallypark B'
Anthony Lyons
Clodiagh Rangers 'B' entertained Sallypark 'B' at Drombane knowing that three points were essential due to last week's reversal.

Clodiagh Rangers started brightly and put together some excellent passing moves early on, and combined with a strong tackling ethos around the midfield area saw them well on top in the opening exchanges.

A number of half chances were created and Clodiagh Rangers put the Sallypark defence under constant pressure with a barrage of corners being sent in by Rory Ryan. Darragh Spooner was having a promising debut in the Clodiagh Rangers midfield and alongside experienced campaigner Stephen Walsh, the pair were a dominating presence in the middle.

As the first half neared its conclusion Clodiagh Rangers made the break through as Gareth Foxton danced past two defenders before squaring the ball to the unmarked Joe Cullagh who made no mistake from close range.

Into the second half and Clodiagh Rangers continued with their high work rate and created numerous chances with Stephen Gleeson hitting the crossbar and Joe Cullagh unlucky not to score a second goal with a scuffed shot.

The Clodiagh Rangers defence were well on top as Sallypark seemed to be struggling to find an equalizer, until with fifteen minutes to play disaster struck when hesitancy amongst the Clodiagh Rangers defence allowed the ball to be prodded home by the Sallypark number eleven, Anthony Lyons.

But great credit has to be given to this Clodiagh Rangers team who picked themselves up and went i mmediately about restoring their lead. After a succession of corner kicks and good Clodiagh Rangers pressure, Rory Ryan dispatched the perfect ball which was met by the head of centre half Declan Carr who made it 2 - 1 with his second goal of the season.

Clodiagh Rangers deservedly held on to take the full points.
James Coffey; John Ryan, Declan Carr, Andrew Fogarty, Rory Ryan; Jack Spillane, Darragh Spooner, Stephen Gleeson, Seamus Armstrong; Gareth Foxton, Joe Cullagh.
Patrick Purcell, Keith Ryan, James Murray