Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

23 January 2011
Tipperary Cup
Ballymackey B'
N. Hogan (2)
M. Ryan
3-4(after extra time)
Clodiagh Rangers B
Owen Shortt (2)
Eamon Cullagh
Colm Stapleton
Last Sunday Clodiagh Rangers 'B' travelled to Ballinree to take on their Ballymackey counterparts in the first round of the Tipperary Cup.

The small home crowd who turned up to watch this one may not have appreciated the result, with Clodiagh Rangers producing arguably their best performance of the season, but were treated to somewhat of a classic. Ballymackey began well and with home advantage were comfortably the better side in the first half.

Following a series of corner kicks, Ballymackey took a deserved lead when Noel Hogan met a low cross with a scissors kick and the ball flew past Kinane for the opener. Clodaigh picked up the pace and responded well and when Seamus Cullagh chipped the ball over the Ballymackey defence for Owen Shortt, the striker made no mistake as he ran onto it and slotted past the keeper to level the game with half an hour played.

Ballymackey came back at Clodiagh Rangers again and finished the first half well with two goals in five minutes. Noel Hogan grabbed his second with a rocket from twenty five yards, and then Marty Ryan capitalized on a mistake from the Clodiagh Rangers defence to put them two goals clear at half time.

PJ Kennedy brought Eamon Cullagh and Pat Phelan on for the second half and the switch paid immediate dividends with Cullagh finishing off a move that had emanated down the left wing. Clodiagh Rangers piled on the pressure and forced the game into extra time when Colm Stapleton pounced on a loose ball in the box to equalize.

With momentum in their favour, Clodiagh Rangers completed the task in extra time, when Stapleton played Shortt through on goal to score what proved to be the winner and send the Drombane side through to the next round.
Andrew Kinane; Keith Ryan, Mark Conway, John Ryan C, Colm Kennedy; Colm Stapleton, Stephen Gleeson, Patrick Purcell, Vincent Ryan, Seamus Cullagh, Owen Shortt.
Eamon Cullagh, Pat Phelan