Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

26 August 2012
Division 3
Borrisokane B
David Nevin
Clodiagh Rangers B
Brian Carroll
Diarmuid Grant
Clodiagh B' made the journey to Borrisokane to take on their division three counterparts in their opening league fixture. Clodiagh got off to a dream start with Borrisokane failing to clear a corner and Brian Carroll pounced from close range to give them the lead. Clodiagh continued to press home their superiority and Diarmuid Grant found himself one on one with the Borrisokane keeper and calmly slotted the ball past him to double the lead. Clodiagh Rangers were in full command at this point but a lack of concentration in the defence lead to a careless challenge and the inevitable result of a penalty.
Keith Ryan was given no chance by David Nevin who dispatched the penalty with some aplomb. With halftime approaching, Clodiagh Rangers won a penalty of their own when Diarmuid Grant was upended in the Borrisokane area and once more the referee pointed to the spot.
Rory Ryan stepped up to the resultant penalty but unfortunately blasted his effort over the bar.
The second half was somewhat of a rearguard action for Clodiagh Rangers, but marshalled from the back by Brian Carroll, the Drombane side held resolute and took all three points.
Keith Ryan, Rory Ryan, John Ryan, Brian Carroll, Patrick Purcell, Shaun Coffey, James Horan, Jason Forrestal, Seamus Armstrong, James Coffey, Diarmuid Grant.
Bobby Wade, Pat Phelan, Vincent Ryan, Stephen Gleeson.