Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

Sunday 5th Maarch 2017
u14 South West Regional Semi Final
Tulla United
Clodiagh Rangers
Jamie Davern 2
Clodiagh U14's qualified for the SFAI South West Regional Cup Final last Sunday when they came from behind to beat a strong Clare side Tulla United side 2-1 at Regional United's impressive All Weather facility in Dooradoyle, Limerick.

Clodiagh were slow to settle into the game and it was Tulla who took the lead after seven minutes with a fine strike from just inside the area.

The Clare boys looked the sharper at this stage and came close to doubling their advantage on a couple of occasions before Clodiagh eventually got a grip on proceedings and began to create some openings of their own.

With twenty minutes gone the Drombane side levelled matters when the ball was worked forward on the right flank and Sean Phillips delivered a perfect cross for Jamie Davern to head home from six yards.

Clodiagh began to exert more pressure on Tulla in the second half but found it difficult to carve open a resolute defence in the swirling conditions. However with just three minutes left they finally made the breakthrough when a flowing move found Jamie Davern on the edge of the area and he showed excellent composure under pressure from the advancing keeper to slot home the winner.

Overall Clodiagh were not at their best on the day but will be happy with the solid performances of James Griffin and the back four in the second half in particular, along with a good display from Sean Phillips on the right wing and top quality finishing from striker Jamie Davern.

With 45 teams starting out in the South West area (Kerry, Limerick, Clare and North Tipperary) of this competition it's now down to just two.

Having overcome the best these counties had to offer, Clodiagh will now face domestic rivals Nenagh in the coming weeks in a final that's sure to generate much interest locally.
James Griffin, Sean Ryan, Danny Slattery, Oisin Treacy, Jason O'Dwyer, Luke Shanahan, Stephen Ferncombe, Sean Phillips, Jack Kennedy, Jamie Davern, Charlie Yates.
Mikey Griffin, Jesse Maher and Jack Ryan.