Rangers F.C.

FAI Summer Soccer School

Pat Treacy, (087) 9543238.

23th to 27th July 2018

23 October 2010
Division 2 Youths
Clodiagh Rangers
Ailbe O'Donoghue
James Horan
Ciaran Shortt
Shane O'Dwyer
Diarmuid Grant 2
Kevin Ryan
Paul Ryan
Clonmore Youths were the visitors to Drombane where Clodiagh Rangers Youths sought to get back to winning ways in the league.
Clodiagh Rangers had a very strong squad to pick from which gave the management some selection headaches.
Clodiagh Rangers started strong from the start and Ailbe O'Donoghue showed his strength to carve out a number of chances in the early stages.
His work was rewarded when put through one on one with the Clonmore keeper, he finished clinically. From this point on Clodiagh Rangers were on top in this match with strong performances from Seamus Armstrong, Ciaran Shortt and Paul Shanahan.
Clodiagh Rangers went in at half time leading by four, with strikes from James Horan, Ciaran Shortt and Shane O'Dwyer. Clodiagh Rangers started the second half with the same tempo and were rewarded when Diarmuid Grant finished a good move to make it five.
Clonmore were awarded a penalty mid way through the second half, but the luckless centre forward sent it high over the crossbar.
Kevin Ryan then came off the bench and straight away intercepted a short kick out from Clonmore and finished cleverly from outside the area. Paul Ryan also came off the bench to score the goal of the game after sending the ball into the top corner from distance after some great build-up play by Clodiagh Rangers.
Andy Ely also impressed when brought on for James Horan. Diarmuid Grant finished the days scoring after placing pressure on the Clonmore defence, he forced his way past the Clonmore keeper and copper-fastened his 'man of the match' performance with a second goal on the day.
Clodiagh Rangers stay top of the league with three games to go and the destiny of the league firmly in their own hands.
Gerard Grant; Jack Spillane, Seamus Armstrong, James Murray, Paul Shanahan; Shane O'Dwyer, Diarmuid Grant, Ciaran Shortt, Shaun Coffey; Ailbe O'Donoghue
Kevin Ryan, Paul Ryan, Andy Ely.